top of page

Meet the Staff: Mrs. DiChiara

To kick off our Meet the Staff segment, we will introduce our club's sponsor Mrs. DiChiara! You may know her as the Pre-AP English 10 teacher, but here is some fun information you didn't know:

  1. What's your favorite movie? Why is it your favorite? Hands down Gone With The Wind. I love Scarlett O'Hara.

  2. What made you want to become a teacher? I always played school as a little girl. I had the chalkboard; I made tests to fill out, and I graded them. I played the entire school day. I went from subject to subject, and I did that until seventh grade. When I played with friends, I was always the teacher. It’s all I’ve ever wanted to do.

  3. What are some of your pet peeves? If students ask me if we did anything when they were absent- that I cannot stand. Or when students write in pencil. When my family texts me at 10am and asks for dinner like I don’t know.

  4. Tells us about your kids. I have three girls; it was very rough when they were younger, but now its okay- they like each other now. I had three kids under four; it was kind of a blur. They are awesome, and we talk all the time. I have three precious grandsons. I have three daughters and three grandsons which is neat.

  5. Do you have any pets? I do; I’m trying not to be ugly. I'm not a cat person. I'm not a dog person either, but I have a dog named Atticus. He's a Pomapoo. If anyone wants to take him, I will give him away for free.

  6. What's the best part of teaching? Students, I love interacting with the students.

  7. What's your least favorite part of teaching? Grading, grading, grading. Grading essays is what I would have to say.

  8. What's your favorite food? Fried chicken. I love Lloyd's. It is the best fried chicken.

  9. What do you do in your free time? Any hobbies? Oh gosh- that’s hard! I absolutely love to shop; it’s bad, but I love to find a good bargain. I love to play Words with Friends, and I guess we can put down reading. Also, I love cooking; I make great homemade Italian food. I can make cinnamon rolls from scratch. I make great fried chicken and gravy, but I don’t have time to make this all the time.

  10. Do you have a favorite song? I do! I love Perfect by Ed Sheeran. It’s a great song. My all-time favorite song is “Living on a Prayer” by Bon Jovi.

  11. Do you want to travel? I want to go to London- to the Globe Theatre and Shakespeare’s house.

  12. Who is your favorite author? Do you have a favorite or least favorite genre? I do like Faulkner, but Steinbeck is great, too. I love Grapes of Wrath. My least favorite genre is fantasy because I like things I can relate to. I like things that could really happen.

  13. What is your favorite and least favorite book to teach? I love teaching The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and my least favorite is The Scarlet Letter. I know it has good value and good parts to it, but it’s too tedious!

  14. What is something many people don’t know about you? I taught biology; in fact, my first job was biology! I was the only one in my class with a major in biology and English.

33 views
RECENT POSTS

ARCHIVE

©2019 by Spain Park's The Jag
bottom of page