top of page

Signing Day at the Park: Results


Caroline Kendrick is one of fourteen Spain Park High School students to sign Letters of Intent. For the past 3 years, Caroline has played an essential role as a pitcher on the Spain Park softball team.

Caroline committed to Hofstra University near Long Island, NY.

 

Kendrick describes her experience at the National Signing Day ceremony:

“They had the stage set up. We sat in a chair, and they called the students by name and named their schools. News stations, like WBRC, were there, and Iron City Studios took photos.

The process was not the easiest. I looked at a lot of schools in Hoftsra’s conference, but once I met the coach and stepped on the campus, I knew it was where I wanted to go because I would be getting to study Communications in a big city full of possibilities. I am [going on an academic scholarship], but I am playing softball next year. The softball team, here at Spain Park, has had a history of girls being signed, so I’ve always looked forward to participating in it. I'm very grateful that I got to and that our school recognizes all of the hard work. My favorite part is when people ask me questions like why I picked Hofstra.”

Kendrick is the first Spain Park student to sign for Hofstra University.

“To play D1 softball, pursue the academic career, continue to be advanced in my schoolwork, and be advanced in athletics were appealing to me. I was looking for a school with a good Communications program. I connected with the students right off the bat. I am very excited about it and all of the possibilities ahead of me. Touring the campus with him made me really passionate about going to school there. His resume is spectacular. My two most-desired colleges were Hofstra and Birmingham Southern. I felt like Hofstra was the better fit for me, but Birmingham Southern was amazing throughout my entire recruitment process. I’m just very thankful for the opportunities I've gotten throughout my years in travel ball and with Spain Park softball, and especially the friendships I’ve made.”

 

Among the other Spain Park students to sign letters of intent:

Davis Brown for golf: Central Alabama Community College

Anna Brunner for soccer: University of South Alabama

Jasmine Greene for soccer: Furman University

Braxton Hall for football: Mississippi College

Jalen Henderson for football: Auburn University

Victoria Hunter for basketball: Western Kentucky University

Abbie Kleckley for soccer: Sewanee: The University of the South

Maddie Majors for softball: Auburn University

William Mote for football: University of Georgia

Brady Moulton for lacrosse: Huntingdon College

Matt Stuart for golf: University of Memphis

Cedric Tooson for football: Holmes Community College

Cameron Young for football: University of the Cumberlands

11 views
RECENT POSTS

ARCHIVE

©2019 by Spain Park's The Jag
bottom of page