top of page

My New Favorite Show

Kyla Moore


I recently started watching this TV show called Killing Eve which is about a British intelligence investigator by the name of Eve Polastri who was given the task of capturing a psychopathic female assassin by the name of Villanelle. Throughout the investigation, they develop a mutual obsession with each other because they are impressed with each other's intelligence. Killing Eve is based on the Villanelle novel series by Luke Jennings.



The first season aired in April of 2018 on BBC America, and the fourth season aired this February 2022 as the final season of the series. The series received critical acclaim and has received many accolades such as British Academy Television Award for Best Drama Series. The two leading actresses Sandra Oh (Eve Polastri) and Jodie Comer (Villanelle) were praised for outstanding performances and won multiple awards.


I had heard of it back in 2018 because the leading actress Sandra Oh, before starring in Killing Eve, was a cast member of the popular hit show Grey's Anatomy, which, at the time, was one of my favorite shows. When I heard Sandra Oh was leaving the show, I was upset about it because she was one of my favorite characters; she played Christina Yang, a fan favorite. After finding out she was leaving the show I was interested to know what show she would play in next because I really liked her as an actress. Killing Eve didn't seem all that interesting. I wasn't really into shows like detective and mystery shows like that, which, looking back, was a big mistake.


For a while, I was just watching random stuff. There were a few shows I found that I've enjoyed: Pen15, The Resident, The Good Doctor, Seinfeld, Squid Game, Derry Girls, etc. Some of them were really surprising to me because I'm really picky about the stuff I watch, but I'm trying to get out of my comfort zone and watch things I wouldn't normally watch, which worked in my favor. Killing Eve came just in time because I was bored and needed something else to watch, and it's been great so far. I've really enjoyed watching it and really love most of the characters… except Eve. I have a love-hate relationship with her; she starts to do good then ruins it. She keeps passing up really good opportunities in my opinion, like, some really good opportunities. Eve makes me so upset that sometimes I have to take a break because I'm so mad at her, but then she has her moments where she redeems herself.


I've been watching it for about three days now, and I'm on the third season. I'm almost finished, but I have to wait until they put the fourth season on Hulu. It's really good. I would 10/10 recommend watching it, definitely worth the time.


P.S.

Villanelle is the best character hands down!


9 views
RECENT POSTS

ARCHIVE

©2019 by Spain Park's The Jag
bottom of page